~JOYRIDE K9 *REMOTE* K9NW EDUCATION~

MW2016Sept: Terry and Taku (Alaskan Klee Kai) Alaska

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Terry Wright and Kai
      Participant

Boy, if I read the instructions I’d be a head of the game…. sorry

Taku is a 15 year old Alaskan Klee Kai, him and I have been doing nose work for about 6 years, taking winters off.
        Taku is environmentally challenged.

We went to our third NW2 Trial this last spring and fringe alerted in one of interiors, missed one hide in the vehicles (we timed out). we did end up with three pronounced ๐Ÿ™‚

This is one activity that Taku and I can play in together, even though he is dog reactive. He has come a long way since participating in this sport, he has become more self-confident in new environments.

There was another NW 2 trial earlier this month, but Taku got ill with pancreatitis and in the process found out he has a mass on his liver (that is another story), so we had to cancel ๐Ÿ™ I assume there will be another trial spring of 2017 and if little butt is here and is up to it we will put our name in the hat ๐Ÿ™‚

Taku found 1st hide @ .52 sec. in the gravel. He first went to the retaining wall, not sure if the odor was flowing to the wall, but he did work back through the gravel to the hide.

We walked to the right hand slope I believe he caught odor when he turned around to walk towards the left slope, he finds the gravel hide again, I reward him again.

At 2:21 Taku walks down the edge of the slope to the left. At 2:24 he turns around heads back to the right, finds it at 2:36, reward quickly.

I get him to continue walking to the left, I believe he caught odor at about 2:48 but kept walking to end of the leash, turns back around and finds the hide at 3:08.

Wellโ€ฆ Taku isnโ€™t going to win any ribbons for speed ?

I see what I think is little nods to odor, but not committing right awayโ€ฆ do you see that, or am I seeing things?
        Thanks

Terry Wright