~JOYRIDE K9 *REMOTE* K9NW EDUCATION~

NW601: Sarah & Angie (Beagle/Brittany mix, PA)

Tagged: ,

Viewing 22 reply threads
  • Author
      Sarah Woodruff
      Participant

Angie and I have been doing nose work since 2011 and have been training at elite level since 2015. With each training session or trial I am amazed that the journey is not over yet. She has become an AWESOME searcher with such enthusiasm and efficiency. It’s always been there but I swear she has gotten even more awesome over the last 6 months. We have had some great and not so great elite trial performances.

My goals for this class are to learn as much as possible to be the best handler I can be. It is a gift to get into an elite trial at this point and if/when we do get into one this year, I want us to be our best. I never had Nationals as a goal until I saw how capable she is of getting there. Being points based many of the mistakes that decreased our score were my fault – not calling a finish, not trusting on a high hide, not calling a normal height hide because i was too tired and not thinking right, etc etc.

My goal for Angie is to keep challenging her and increasing her ability to find close converging, being confident with high hides, and experiencing new hide placements to increase her catalog of experiences. and we may need to revisit containers/distractors in case that ever pops up in an elite trial again.

Last, at a recent sniff thru I noticed Angie and I have great team work in “elite” type searches with lots of hides in a search area. But get us back into a search area with only 1 or 2 hides and we are a mess as a team. She is hyper vigilant at detailing everything and I start to guess where a hide may be, and I make her double check even thought she has already checked and moved on.

Oh and of course a goal is for us to have fun during these cold and snowy winter months!!!

Sarah

Kimberly Buchanan
      Keymaster