~JOYRIDE K9 *REMOTE* K9NW EDUCATION~

Tagged: ,

Viewing 45 reply threads
  • Author
      Tina Evrard
      Participant

Skye and I have been doing nosework for almost 4 years, we titled at NW2 this past May. We started classes with an ANWI but when she closed her business we were left to wing it. Skye is a slower but methodical searcher and I am hoping that this course will help us move toward NW3 (possibly in the spring, if we’re ready!) Skye was profoundly fearful when I got her (7 yrs ago) and I really didn’t think she’d ever be able to compete, now we are seriously considering NW3!!! Bring on the challenges, we can do this ๐Ÿ™‚

Kimberly Buchanan
        Keymaster

Welcome back, Tina & Skye! Let’s see if we can’t help you more than “wing it.” ๐Ÿ™‚

Kimberly Buchanan
          Joyride K9 Dog Training

Tina Evrard
          Participant

Yay! It’s the first day of class and we did our homework ๐Ÿ˜‰ 20 closed boxes, 3 have odor-1 of each scent, aged 25 min. The odor boxes have the pink sticky notes on them and blank boxes have yellow sticky notes, I do not mark boxes normally but I wanted you to be able to tell what she was hitting on.

Kimberly Buchanan
            Keymaster

Very nice work! Despite this being an on-leash exercise you did a nice job of staying out of Skye’s way and letting her search. You responded nicely to which way she turned, as well, to keep it balanced. She was very insistent with the odor boxes. Pawing could be a problem and something to think about but I’m glad she was very assured of the odor at those locations. She didn’t try to give you any other signals on any other boxes. She checked out slightly at the beginning (:30+) but once she resumed she was very methodical checking every single box.

Note at (2:44) how she raises her head to you slightly. That’s the first piece of communication (that I saw) other than going back to previously found hides and showing a little frustration, that she was done. No falses which was great!