~JOYRIDE K9 *REMOTE* K9NW EDUCATION~

NW301: Sarah and Lily (Golden Retriever, PA)

Tagged: ,

Viewing 41 reply threads
  • Author
      Sarah Sorlien
      Participant

Lily and I have been working in Nosework for about two years now, starting when she was about 8 months old. She has her NW2 and we are preparing for NW3. She has also done trick work and a 6 week course in (level 2) tracking and trailing. I find she is incredibly enthusiastic in her searches at home, and most of the trials in the past. She was 5th in time at her NW2. She has lately been a little subdued at workshops with groups, though. Perhaps I have asked too much of her as she has been a working dog in three workshops in the past month and another last Summer.

At the last workshop someone even suggested she might be hypothyroid! I think, instead it is lack of confidence/stress in the group setting – and she did get better when we did some tricks prior to her final searches. Ron Gaunt called her “pet”-ified. I don’t think he meant that in a bad way, as she surely is my pet. She is looking too much to me, though.

So my goal is to get her to have more fun with the searches and backtrack on this new pattern. I want to up her confidence and improve her stamina and our teamwork. I would also like to figure out the behaviors I have that are contributing to her performance. I have been trying in many ways to improve our working relationship – the Trick work does help that, but is pretty different than the nosework.

Kimberly Buchanan
      Keymaster

Welcome Sarah! What kind of dog is Lily? How old is she?

Kimberly Buchanan
      Joyride K9 Dog Training

Sarah Sorlien
      Participant

I’m sorry. She is almost 3 and a Golden Retriever. She is a little overweight, so we had attended the toy workshop to try and make a change of rewards, but she does search better for food. Thanks

Kimberly Buchanan
      Keymaster

Ah! Yes, of course! I will edit your header to reflect this. ๐Ÿ˜€

Kimberly Buchanan