~JOYRIDE K9 *REMOTE* K9NW EDUCATION~

NW201: Sue and Blackie (All American, CA)

Tagged: ,

Viewing 45 reply threads
  • Author
      Susanne Howarth
      Participant

Blackie and I have been doing Nose Work for almost 4 years now and achieved our NW1 title at the end of March. So far, we’ve entered 2 NW2 trials and in both cases we succeeded on two of the four elements, with placements in elements that we passed. One of our problems has been seemingly definitive alerts from Blackie that turned out to be false. (I may have cracked the code on this issue in regards to Containers at our most recent NW2 trial.) We have also had difficulty with Vehicles: inaccessible hides/converging odors. And I think Blackie sometimes SOOOO wants to please me that she finds a bit of odor (perhaps drifting from the far side of a vehicle) and alerts because she’s in odor, rather than working it back to the source. She’s so definite in some of these situations that I accept it — and am wrong. Looking forward to achieving our NW2 title as a direct result of this course!!! (That’s not too big an objective, now is it?)

Welcome Sue & Blackie! 🙂

Kimberly Buchanan
      Joyride K9 Dog Training

Gina Baker
      Spectator

Hi Sue,
      Glad to meet you. It is amazing what you do to make sure your dogs have a good life. Kalli just needed more. I tried agility also – we never competed, but learned the dog walk, tunnel and A-frame. She loves it but she does not have the speed and she could never handle the environment of agility trial. I belong to a club and we run trials and they always seem to be just lot of confusion – people and dogs everywhere! BRAVO to Blackie!! That is another reason why we love Nose Work – when you have a reactive, shy, or just nervous dog, their rules for class and trials are HAVEN to the owner.