~JOYRIDE K9 *REMOTE* K9NW EDUCATION~

MW2016Mar: Carolyn, Cooper, & Scout (White Shepherds, MT)

Home Forums ARCHIVES MW2016Mar: MOVIE WEEK, March 16-22, 2016 MW2016Mar: GOLD STUDENTS (Private lessons, OK for all to view!) MW2016Mar: Carolyn, Cooper, & Scout (White Shepherds, MT)

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Carolyn Murray
      Participant

Kim – you and I chatted at one point about using one of my videos for Cooper. Hope that is still cool! ๐Ÿ™‚

Let’s see – my dogs:

Scout is now 2.5 years old. She has a lot of enthusiasm and likes to do everything BIG. I’ve been training her in NW since she was about 6 months old and have done just about everything you can think of the wrong way. Despite her handler, she has successfully competed in UKC NW trials earning novice, advanced, and superior element titles. We tried for our NW1 last December but failed because I thought she was crittering and never called alert. She’s still got some overall maturing to do.

Cooper is about 7.5 and I almost totally ruined him in nosework by teaching him an indication first and not teaching him to hunt. He’s extremely sensitive and can be fairly reactive. I’ve done a lot of pairing with him over the past 10 months or so and observed how he plays the game instead of telling him how I want him to do it. He’s earned a UKC Novice element title (or two?). I ran him NW1-FEO last December and, not only was I impressed with him, but he would have titled easily that day! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Cooper and I have a long working partnership in other sports and I trust him 100%. In NW he’s the dog I run first if I want to see what’s going on with odor in the area.

These are two very different dogs who have a handler that needs lots of help! ๐Ÿ˜€

Carolyn Murray
        Participant

This is Scout. Filmed 2/21/16 around 5 pm or so. She was the third dog to search the area. Relatively warm day – around 40 or 45?? I’m sure there was at least a breeze as there always is…one birch hide aged over an hour.