~JOYRIDE K9 *REMOTE* K9NW EDUCATION~

MW2016Jul: Terry & Taku (Alaskan Klee Kai, Alaska)

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author
      Terry Wright and Kai
      Participant

Taku and I have been working in NW for about 6 years. Taku turned 15 in June and has lost his hearing or at least most of it. And he is environmentally challenged.

We went to our third NW2 Trial this last spring and fringe alerted in one of interiors, missed one hide in the vehicles (we timed out). we did end up with three pronounced ๐Ÿ™‚

This is one activity that Taku and I can play in together, even though he is dog reactive. He has come a long way since participating in this sport, he has become more self-confident in new environments.

We have another NW 2 trial coming up in September.

Terry Wright

Kimberly Buchanan
        Keymaster

Welcome back, Terry & Taku! We’ve seen remarkable improvement from Taku in the past year. Can’t wait to see what videos you choose to share! ๐Ÿ™‚

p.s. I fixed your header to add “MW2016Jul” – without that part it tries to pull in other threads from other classes. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Kimberly Buchanan
          Joyride K9 Dog Training

Terry Wright and Kai
          Participant

thanks for fixing the header ๐Ÿ™‚

I went through some of my older youtube NW videos to start with. I plan to start getting some tomorrow for our exterior class that I will share later.

This one was this spring on our front deck, the sun was out and a slight breeze coming off the lake. Unpaired, known hide. It was the second hide in one search, I trimmed the first on off.

It was between the two stacked chairs in the back of back rest. The backs are slotted.

It’s a quick one don’t blink ๐Ÿ™‚

Right at the start I see that I am slow slow slow, I should have rewarded him at like .02 seconds! I wait a few seconds and he *shows* me again, only more to the center/left. I reward him.