~JOYRIDE K9 *REMOTE* K9NW EDUCATION~

MW2016DEC: Terry and Taku (Alaskan Klee Kai – Alaska)

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Terry Wright and Kai
      Participant

For those that don’t know us, Taku and I have taken several online classes with Kim. Taku is a 15 year old Alaskan Klee Kai. He is basically death and has a couple bouts of Pancreatitis. Today he is doing very well and we love the sport of nose work, he is dog reactive and this is the only sport we can *play* in!

Taku and I’ve been doing Nose Work for approximately 6 years. Until recently, before finding Kim’s classes, I drive 2 hours round trip for in-person classes, tho we take off most of the winter. Don’t want to be on the roads in the dark, cold, icy roads and where moose could decide to take a stroll across in front of your vehicle… scary! So we take online classes 🙂

Up here in Alaska we only have from one to two trials a year of we are lucky. Taku received his NW1 title on his third try. We missed the last NW Trial this fall because Taku was ill. At this time we aren’t sure when the next trial will be, hopefully this spring. It will be Taku’s 4th time going for his NW2 Title, I think I should say… MY 4th time since it was my boo boos that tripped us up 🙂

We just took the Back to Basic class that Kim offered, but didn’t get to the last two lessons, so I may do those for two for our videos. A couple of other things we could work on would be corners and thresholds. It really is hard to just pick three!! Can’t wait for the next Back to Basic Part 2 🙂 I love the small detailed building boxes that B2B teaches us. 6 years ago was a long time ago and sometimes you forget the littler things…

Looking forwarded to submitting our videos and hearing from Kim… and comments for you all also 🙂

Terry Wright

Kimberly Buchanan
      Keymaster

Welcome back, Terry! FWIW, you WILL have the opportunity to post those B2B videos in the part B coming up in a couple of months! 🙂