MW2016DEC: Sarah and Angie (beagle/brittany/cattle dog mix, PA)

Home Forums ARCHIVES MW2016DEC: Movie Week! December 7-13, 2016 MW2016DEC: GOLD Students (Private Lessons, OK for all to view!) MW2016DEC: Sarah and Angie (beagle/brittany/cattle dog mix, PA)

Tagged: ,

• Creator
    Topic
    Sarah Woodruff
    Spectator

Hi we are back again! Angie (10 yo) and I have been doing nose work since 2011 and are currently competing at the elite level. We have only competed in 4 elite trials in the past 18 months, but i have to say she is doing very well and surprised me at the most recent one. Cool weather is definitely her friend.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Sarah Woodruff
    Spectator

First video is from Ringwood NJ Elite trial. This was our first search of the day. Angie was pumped the entire day. For this search we had to go up a very steep and long set up rock stairs to get to the front door of the building. As you can imagine, with the door being held open she smelled odor and dragged me up those stairs.

Kim, when you were out in PA in March or April, one issue I thought I was having is that she was checking in with me more. At first I thought it was an age thing, but at this trial I finally figured it all out. You will see it in this first video, she checks in when she runs into a wall of converging odor. she stops and looks back at me. She is very independent and will search her heart out without me, so these check ins really threw me. I finally learned that there are 2 check ins (besides an alert). One is when she hits the massive wall of converging odor and the second is when she is done or there is a lack of odor present.

#1. There is a threshold hide and her behavior tells me that but she doesn’t source it immediately.
    #2. At around 23/24 second you see that check in.

She ends up passing 4 hides to get the 5th under a chair and then we have to work back to finding the others.