~JOYRIDE K9 *REMOTE* K9NW EDUCATION~

How long have you been playing Nose Work?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Carolyn Murray
      Participant

Just a fun question – wondering how long ago everyone started? Especially those of trialing at higher levels….

I started training Scout in February or March of 2014. Lol!

Dave Ellison
        Participant

Bodie and I started in early 2011. NW1 title in Oct. 2012. Elite title a month ago. Initially my wife and I had no intention of competing. Even after our NW1 trial (the only trial we got both of our dogs into), we weren’t that serious. Now we are both completely addicted.

Deb (De) Frost
          Participant

I started training Baxter in late 2012. Passed our ORT spring 2013, earned his NW1 9/2013 (1st trial-Pronounced!).
            Note: to date, we have exactly 2 trial opportunities per year in Alaska.

Baxter earned his NW2 in 5/2014 (2nd trial). Ran FEO in another NW2 trial in 9/2014 because (thank goodness, in hindsight) there were no NW3 trials in Alaska yet then. Earned Pronounced, but not on record because it was FEO. ?

We totally BLEW our 1st NW3 trial 5/2015 – lack of experience on MY part – it was only our 4th ever trial! ??
            Earned our 1st NW3 title 9/2015.
            Missed again 5/2016 <sigh> entirely due to me making one bad call. Our next try is next month – 8/2016.

Totally addicted. I started my older girl, 9-yr-old Abby, last year. She earned her NW1 in 5/2016. ?

Kathryn Dobyns
            Participant